Sexing a silkie

Rik

Hatching
13 Years
Jan 14, 2007
Queensland, Australia
Ive bought a partridge silkie from a breeder but the breeder is a newbie herself and is not sure of the sex of her chicks. What are the tell tail signs i should be looking for?
Before i went to buy the chick i did some reading and found this site

http://www.americansilkiebantamclub.org/articles_page.htm

But being a newbie myself i didn't really know what i was looking for and i was second guessing myself. Any help would be great.

Thanks Rik

oh yeah the chick is 4 weeks old

Last edited:
There is really no way to for sure sex a silkie until you hear a crow or see an egg. The best we can do is guess. I have found that if the feathers swoop back twards the neck on the crest, that allot of times its a boy. If you post some pics here I can take a look and give you my best guess. Also watch there behavior and posture. Boys tend to stand more erect and girls are morelikely to be short and squatty, but there are always the exceptions that just dont act like what they should and fool you.
tongue.png

Someone was able to tell me the gender once on a chick (partly grown/feathered out) by the pattern of the partridge. I'm not familiar with it, though. How old is the chick?

Take your finger run it down the little leg feel for spurs - Roos have spurs you'll feel the difference and get almost 100% accuracy around 5 days (thanks Duck lady and friend) But if you perfer tricks I also heard if you face North and sing God Bless American in Dutch that you are surpose to hatch only girl eggs