Should I rehome EE rooster?

Scchickenmom

Chirping
Apr 3, 2023
South Carolina
I apologize if this is a stupid question, I’m very new to all of this. We have 15 chickens total. 11 of them are 20 weeks old and 4 easter eggers are 16 weeks old. They have all been together now for 8 weeks. We never wanted a rooster…but of course we ended up with one in the EE group. He is beautiful and just started crowing, also just started acting like he wants to mate. I’m not thrilled with that, but understand nature.

My biggest concern is I believe he is keeping the 3 EE pullets from integrating into the flock. I’ve noticed that he tries to keep them in the coop and will stand at the door between the coop and run to guard it. When I’m able to be home for them to free range, other girls are now around those 3 with out chasing and pecking at them and I believe if they were able to have more interactions during the day they would become less skittish. These 3 are the only ones I can’t readily pick up for exams and to hold and I really want them to become more comfortable around me and the rest of the girls.

I don’t think I have another rooster in my group. I questioned 1out of 4 barred rock because of a pronounced comb and wattles, but it’s the same color and size of the other 3. And all 4 polish are looking like hens. So if this one goes it would be an all girl band. Would this change the dynamics enough to help the 3 EE or would it hurt things more?
Picture of the offending jerk for tax :)

Attachments

• IMG_7892.jpeg
    IMG_7892.jpeg
    811.4 KB · Views: 70
ive had roos keeping hens separate before. i put them in the stew pot. ONLY if you rally don't care for them or don't need them would I recommend rehoming. If you like him then keep him and you'll have to work the hard way of gaining trust