Something clearly wrong - Advice

Marrrum

Chirping
7 Years
May 15, 2016
Salt Lake City, Utah
Team,

Thanks for reading my post!

I am uploading pictures of my chicken in hope of 1. Identifying the breed ( I am extremely new at this ) and 2. To see what kind of Injury, disease, sickness this bird has. I don't expect a full diagnosis online of course, but any information will surely help. I have two of her species. The other, looks just fine. I got them both as adult hens. 2 years old I believe. I have no idea if they were vaccinated as chicks or not. The man I bought them from had 7 of them. I gave 3 of them to a very reputable chicken raiser/farmer here in town. They are doing just fine.

My one girl with the issue is as follows : Sudden loss of feathers and weight. She is very much underweight compared to the other of her kind. She has what appear to be small, white colored flakes/ speckles when she flaps her wings. She appears to be loosing color in her comb and wattles are turning a white color. They also look a bit dryer than her counterpart. Her feathers have lost their shine and she stands on one of two legs more often than the rest of the birds. Doesn't seem to have a preferred one, just stands on one or the other sometimes. She is lifting her feet frequently to pick at the bottoms. No sores yet, just picks at them. To be honest, I was gone for about a week and had a friend watching them. I had precise feeding schedules and watering systems that hold plenty of water. I hate to say, but I think one of my dogs may have attacked here while i was gone. Needles to say i don't trust this individual to watch her anymore since he swears nothing happened to her, but she has a loss of feathers on her tummy and a big, red dot on her stomach. Almost like a healing wound. I am very worried about her well being and of course, if she is contagious to my flock.