1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

The neverending coop project. *Update - IT'S DONE!!!!!!*

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Happy Chooks, Jul 18, 2010.

1. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Free Ranging Staff Member Premium Member 9 Years

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    First, they story. My DH decided that I need to build this new coop for my hobby. He wants me to realize it's not just as easy as saying "build me _____ ". So the project began. He has helped me with design and shown me what needs to be done, but I have done the majority of the work. He is helping me a little more now, because he says I'll never get it done at the rate I'm going. (so I'm really slow, I've never done this before! Do you know how aggravating it is to work 1 1/2 hours on something and he comes in and does the other side in 15 minutes? [​IMG] )

So, his objective has been reached. Building is a pain in the rear and VERY, VERY slow. Maybe by Christmas it will be done. Then I gotta build the runs! [​IMG]

Anyhow, here is the progress so far. It's 8X12 and I will split 1/3 lengthwise for breeding/broody/raising babies. The remaining 2/3 will be for the flock.

The floor framing:
    [​IMG]

Wall framing complete:

[​IMG]

Roof framing complete:
    [​IMG]

Close up of roof framing:
    [​IMG]

And where I am currently:
    [​IMG]
    Ventilation runs at roof line on this side and the opposite side. They will be covered with hardware cloth on the inside:
    [​IMG]
    Looking in from the doorway:
    [​IMG]
    Looking back from the window:
    [​IMG]
    Showing the roof sheeting. I HATE heights, so this was really difficult for me.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  2. The Sheriff

The Sheriff Crowing

Jun 17, 2009
    Northern CA