Using shed for chicken coop. Need layout ideas

Pics
Feb 6, 2023
A magical land in Northern IL
I would like to transform one of the sheds on our property that is in good condition into a chicken coop and build a chicken run on the exterior. For reference I am soon to have 15 new chicks and this shed is 16x16. I am new to all of this and I am scared to ask/ don’t feel comfortable asking my neighbors so I feel my backyard chicken friends can hopefully provide good insight on how to have this coop layed out. I am trying to reuse materials I already have such as fallen branches for roosting perches if that’s okay? We are surrounded by woods so predators are everywhere and a whole pack of coyotes just scooped one of my neighbors dead birds on my property line so I’m really scared on how to protect the flock. I haven’t gotten a chance to clear the shed, but I can provide better pictures if needed. Thank you everyone.

Attachments

• E5F3ED9E-A540-481A-8C44-2854E5B97F5C.jpeg
    E5F3ED9E-A540-481A-8C44-2854E5B97F5C.jpeg
    500.8 KB · Views: 991
  • B82E90CB-A207-4081-95FE-9A485ABEB26B.jpeg
    B82E90CB-A207-4081-95FE-9A485ABEB26B.jpeg
    608.7 KB · Views: 22
That’s a pretty good shed to hold birds.

Here are some things you want to put in the back of your head.

Roost Space: 1sqft per bird
Run space: 10-15sqft per bird
Coop floor space: 4-5 sqft per bird.
Ventilation: 1sqft per bird

I prefer a poop board with a roost on top of it, it catches all the poop while they sleep and can be easier to scoop then cleaning out the entire coop. You can easily add nesting boxes to that, whether you want something permanent or temporary.

Here’s a thread on nest box designs

A pop door, is an easy add to this as well.

This is my coop set up, but i’m in the process of building another one

Attachments

• 4B49CC02-E655-437E-8DEE-0B9C0CA264AA.jpeg
    4B49CC02-E655-437E-8DEE-0B9C0CA264AA.jpeg
    238.1 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:
Thank y