Welsh Harlequin Male ducklings?

juniper sage

In the Brooder
Jun 23, 2023
I have 3 Welsh Harlequins just over 4 weeks - I'm assuming these are all male.. but this is my first time with ducks!
Two of them are quite brown, and the one in the middle of both pictures is mostly white/getting lighter, but lighter in bill colour.
I have 3 welsh and 3 Saxony, and some are definitely quacking (but only when I'm not looking of course lol)

IMG_8490.jpg

IMG_8491.jpg

They are super duper adorable!! But why are you assuming that they’re all male/drakes?
You can’t really tell yet because they’re only four weeks old…
And the ones who are quacking are likely to be girls … but, did you sex them at hatch the first three days you can tell by the bill color with welsh harlequin’s here’s a link
https://saltinmycoffee.com/how-to-sex-welsh-harlequin-ducklings/

They are super duper adorable!! But why are you assuming that they’re all male/drakes?
You can’t really tell yet because they’re only four weeks old…
And the ones who are quacking are likely to be girls … but, did you sex them at hatch the first three days you can tell by the bill color with welsh harlequin’s here’s a link
https://saltinmycoffee.com/how-to-sex-welsh-harlequin-ducklings/
I thought the lighter bills/darkish heads were a sign of males, just based off of different threads I've read. But I would love for them to be all females!
Unfortunately I missed the window for bill sexing (we got them at about 8 days old)

At 4 weeks, sound is your best identifier. Girls are already starting to "get their quack on." Dark heads are an indicator of male. Initially I would tentatively say male at this point, but their heads are not super dark yet and I don't see the classic white band that comes underneath yet. A few more weeks and it will be obvious.