Which coop should I get?

Vanessakz12

Hatching
Jul 1, 2015
Hello members,

newbie here, though I have been a long time reader.
As a science project we just recently hatched 5 Japanese quails, and I am planning to keep them.
I spent the last couple of days looking for a coop that will meet all my needs. Off-ground nesting area, run, easy access, can lock up the quails if needed and it also has to be appealing to the eye and look good in our landscaping. On some of the coops the ramps to the second floor looked awfully steep, so I googled quails and ramps... and cam to find that most quails apparently don't use the ramp? That completely throws me off now, because I would much prefer a 2 level coop. How is your experience with that? How if I put rubber on the ramp?
So far my chicks have been extremely playful, and I have built them a quail playground where they run, jump and climb like crazy. It is hard for me to believe that they won't walk up and down a ramp.

Quail prefer to hop and fly everywhere. BUT they will use ramps. Here is my latest coop area for my birds. I used to use huge aviaries for my birds but my quail are growing quite old, others have passed on from old age and I only have a few left. So I moved them into one of these and they do indeed use the ramp...

The wooden ramp was a bit slippery so I put some of that rubber shelf liner on it. I have also since added more fake foliage in the bottom. Quail love to lurk and sneak around under brush. I use sand in the run for easy clean up and it helps keep it dry, even if it gets wet.

I don't have personal experience on two level coops, but when I was researching to get my coop there were a lot of comments on people saying do not waste the time or money on getting a two level coop / high ramp as they will simply not go up. Quails do like their hidey holes and wind protection as well and need some type of box/hutch.