Pics
May 11, 2023
Madison, WI
Hello everyone! I am completely new to chickens and coop building as well as having minimal building experience.
I am operating on a budget and have acquired a lot of free lumber to build a coop for my 8 ladies who grow significantly every day. I decided that Woods' Open Air Poultry House is the way to go for my chicken's health.

I have 3 pallets that have dimensions of 39.5" x 50". I plan to use those pallets as a base for the entire coop, as they are solid oak, only heat treated, and the boards are all flush with one another. So added together as base it would be 118.5" x 50" wide which is ~10 by 4. I know the ratio of 1.6 is recommended in the book by Prince.
Does anyone know if this will make a difference and if it can still work?My ratio would be 2.37 which is considerably skinner and longer than the original design.

Has anyone fluctuated from the recommended ratio and did that work for you? Please advise, as I want to provide the best home for my girls I can. For context the whole open face will be facing south, and my run will be 20' x 8'. I live in Madison, WI. Thank you for your help in advance.

Does anyone know if this will make a difference and if it can still work?
It might, but certainly not as well as the prescribed proportions.
I believe 6x10 is an option.
There was a great thread about this by Howard something,
but I can't find it( @jthornton ?)
Here's a cleaned up digital version of the book:
Modern Fresh Air Poultry House by Prince T Woods

Lots of thing to consider, here's a couple:
Will pallets be a good foundation for such a structure in your climate(frost heave)?
Will the run be on the south side and have a solid roof?
That could have a great effect on the functionality of a Woods.

I live in Madison, WI.
Welcome to BYC! @Coopin Is a Habit
Here's how to add your general geographical location to your profile.
It's easy to do, and then it's always there!
1683898657846.png