Yuletime goose?

belibutn

Songster
11 Years
Apr 11, 2008
East TN
Ok, I asked my wife a question and it brought a tear of joy to her eye... "You want me to see what I can find out about raising a Yule goose?"

I assume that someone has undertaken this already. What types of different things do geese need that chickens don't? I don't have a pond. Should I bury a kiddy pool in the meat bird run? Can a single goose be housed with cornish rocks? Will it, if I wish upon the wishing star, lay a golden egg? They should be slaughtered at about 5 months, right? What breeds are good for meat?

they need a buddy! they will get very lonely they also should be kept in a goose pen it could cause disease with 2 different species. I think that white embdens are probably the best meat goose.

I'm new here, and I'm new to geese. (I have 11 of them, about 9 days old.) I've heard of people who roast Christmas goose, but I can't imagine that too many of those same people actually have a hand in raising them. Goslings are cute and sweet and very personable. Research shows that as they grow up, their personalities are as diverse as human personalities. Also, they can potentially live a very long time. So, my advice would be to make sure you have ample space, the desire, and the means to raise a goose, (or two because the one would grow up incredibly lonely) should you discover you've lost your resolve to kill one of them. BTW, I'm cheering for the goose.
ep.gif

I dont have geese , but i bought three muscovy ducks from Brenda(ahbee01) that will be raised for the same purpose. You dont want a sebastopol, they are too expensive. Wouldnt a few of those white weeder geese, embden or toulouse do? The last two the males are around 18pounds and the females around 12. Or you just order 10weeders for 6.92 at MMM

I am raising geese I hatched specifically for our Christmas Table.