Chicken flight versus fence height... need to clip wings?

cruxmama

Chirping
Jul 14, 2015
FL
Hi all! Chicken newbie here... I've got 5 chicks, all 5 1/2 weeks old. One each of Black Australorp, Buff Orpington, Delware, Golden Laced Wyandotte, and Barred Rock. We are letting them have free run of our front yard, but hoping to keep them contained in that space to keep them safe from both the traffic and from the stray dogs in the neighborhood. The fence is 6 feet all the way around. Do we need to clip a wing for each of our babies? I know they can easily get over a 4-foot fence, but a 6-foot fence? Also, if we need to clip a wing, when should we do that, at what age? Thanks in advance!!

Do we need to clip a wing for each of our babies? I know they can easily get over a 4-foot fence, but a 6-foot fence? Also, if we need to clip a wing, when should we do that, at what age? Age does not play a factor; Blood in the feather shaft is the ruling factor.
I do NOT know if your birds can fly over a 6 ft fence. I know some chickens can.

My run is about 4 ft high. If you clip the feathers on one wing of each bird it will help.

Make SURE there is no blood in the shaft of the feather before you clip or your bird may bleed to death.

Feather shafts containing blood.

On some birds you may even have to clip a few secondary flight feathers.

One wing throws the bird off balance and is more effective than trimming equal amounts off both wings.

Last edited: