Livestock Guardian Animals

I have known people that had miniature donkeys. I think the donkey needs to be raised with the goats though. Otherwise it may attack them.

Not at all sure about this, but wouldn't a miniature donkey be small enough for a coyote or two to take down?

I have no experience with either. I have always had at least two dogs. A coyote will mess with a single dog if it wants. A pack definitely will. One coyote will lead the single dog on a merry chase, while the other coyote sneaks in and grabs a chicken. To them, two dogs appears more pack-like, and they are less likely to mess with them. Lol they will just find a sneaker way to get what they want. Must be why the Navajos called them The Trickster.

So, do you have a LGD? If so, how well are they behaved? I'm trying to convince my mother that we need a dog. (We have lost a few chickens this fall) but she seems to think all dogs are bad. We've had some pretty bad dog experiences in the past. Do ALL LGDs roam?

No. One dog is bred to be a working farm dog. She is one half Black Mouth Cur. One fourth boarder collie, and one fourth McNab. She is the brains. The other is an American Bulldog. The muscle. My place is only two and a half fenced acres.