Any ideas for rain gutter on Quaker coop?

Kathy Golla

Crowing
Jan 2, 2017
San Francisco Bay Area
Hi everyone,
I am out of ideas so am turning to the construction experts.
I have a Quaker coop. We are in Northern California and last year got a lot of rain, which flowed off of the coop roof into the pen. We would like a rain gutter at least on the larger side of the peak/roof.
This coop was made for us by a company. The problem is a) the coop was built with no eave on the long side, the rain comes off the roof and down the outer wall and trickles into the top door vent and b) the vent is placed very close to the roof and there is maybe a 3 inch clearance. Sadly it seems like conventional rain gutters for a home wont work as I wont be able open the vent.
Any ideas what I can do to divert water from the roof to not inside the pen? Here's a pic of the coop configuration. This is the coop with the vent open.
Thanks so much in advance for any ideas.

Coop.jpg

Kathy: I'm no expert on guttering but I worked as a roofer for 7 years and have seen situations like this on existing roofs. What we did was attach the guttering clips/hooks to the fascia board like normal (accounting for slope for water run off), and then slip a piece of aluminum flashing under the first row of shingles. You don't need a big piece, a couple inches under the shingles, and a couple inches of over hang is all you need. Hang your guttering like normal-I always advise to caulk joints and end caps as I don't trust them-and use a line level to ensure you have the proper slope. Once the guttering is installed, bend the flashing down into the gutter trough. you may or may not need to trim in some places to ensure it fits in the trough or doesn't hit anything. Be sure to put a good crease in the flashing so it stays put.