Baby Chicks Dead - Not Sure What Happened

ncrymes07

In the Brooder
Jul 17, 2018

I am brand new to raising chickens. We moved to a house with 2 acres that already had a chicken coop. Since our three year old son is obsessed with animals we bought him some chickens from Tractor Supply at Easter. We bought 8. One died after a couple days and two got eaten by the dogs before we could find the hole. We have since ordered more chicks. Got them June 24th. We have kept them in the same coop as the big chickens but separated by chicken wire. Here recently the babies have been flying over the chicken wire and roaming about the coop while the big chickens free range outside.

Last night we got home late and didn’t get the chicken coop shut before dark. The 5 big chickens were roosting like normal but we found 6 baby chickens dead in the pasture. Not too bloody at all with maybe a little bald spot on neck/shoulder area. Found 5 baby chickens hiding in all kinds of spots and 7 baby chicks completely missing. One baby chick had his intestines hanging out (maybe stepped on by horses?).

Does anyone have an idea of what happened? What to do to prevent it happening again?

Sounds like most of its an issue of security. I keep my chicks caged until they're big enough to "hold their own" against my grown chickens and it seems to work best for me. Try putting them in a situation where they have less ability to wander and you may have more luck. Sorry you lost them but hopefully the situation can be rectified and you won't lose anymore :hugs

Likely the big chickens got the small dead ones with feathers missing due to the fact that if it were a different predator it likely would have gone for your other chickens as well