Blood under perches, what could it be?

The other day when Matilda was laying an egg I noticed a couple drops of blood dripping from the nesting box before the egg came out.
I'm no expert but .....
Dripping from the nesting box...or dripping into the nest from her as she was laying?
Was the blood coming from her hind end....was there blood on the egg?
'Dripping' as in multiple drips..2-8-20 drips?
Did you check out her vent after she laid?

That's quite a bit of blood on the board and I would assume quite a few hours after she laid. Get a hold of her and take a really good look.

Might even want to isolate her in a wire cage within the coop for a day or two....so you can closely monitor their intake of food and water, crop function(checking at night and in morning before providing more feed), and their poops. Feel their abdomen, from below vent to between legs, for squishy or hard swelling.

Best to put crate right in coop or run so bird is still 'with' the flock.
I like to use a fold-able wire dog crate (24"L x 18"W x 21"H) with smaller mesh(1x2) on bottom of crate under tray.
Then you can put tray underneath crate to better observe droppings without it being stepped in. If smaller mesh is carefully installed, tray can still be used inside crate.

The two things that seem to cause bleeding around my coop have been a broken blood feather on feather-footed birds, and pecks to the comb, both of which can look like a massacre has taken place. I would think if there was internal bleeding from cancer or a liver hemorrhage, the chicken would have been found dead after. I hope you figure out the mystery.

Thanks for all your replies guys I have been reading but haven’t had time to reply! Everything seems okay today, everyone’s still alive and I haven’t found any more blood.