Chicken Logistics- Sleeping, Laying, When Does it all Happen? Newbie here!

taffers

In the Brooder
5 Years
Jun 22, 2014
Can I ask some VERY beginner questions? I've done so much research, but I feel like I haven't found anything on the very very basic logistics of what happens when the chicks move to their coop, start laying, etc.

So assuming you put your hens in the coop at night, what do they do in there??? Why do they need roosts? Do they sleep on the roosts or do they sleep in their nesting boxes? If they don't sleep in their nesting boxes, do they only go in there to lay an egg and then come out?

Will they lay eggs at any time- like will they randomly go in the coop during the day to lay an egg, or is something they always do overnight or in the morning?

And what if I leave their coop and run open all day and night (which I think I will do since we have a secure run)- does that make any difference?

I'm sure these are stupid questions, but I'm a little lost!

I am at least one up on most of my friends, who have asked me how I will get eggs with all hens and no rooster! :)

I'll start in reverse order...

I don't have a door between my run and my coop. My birds have the choice of either, all the time. I've had birds chose to sleep out in the run from time to time, but for the most part they go in the coop to sleep. If your run is predator proof, I personally don't see a reason for a door to be opened and closed all the time. Myself, I like to sleep in from time to time, and prefer not to have to run my schedule around my animals
smile.png

Chickens are roosting birds, they like to sleep off the ground once they're grown. Baby chicks sleep on the ground, and it's variable when the start roosting. I've had 6 week old chicks follow momma to the roost, and right now I've got a cockerel coming 4 months who still sleeps on the ground. I never worry about where they sleep, except......