Easter Egger Eggs Changed Colors from Blue/Green to Pinkish!

chickchick1981

Chirping
5 Years
Jan 12, 2016
Oregon
Hi everyone!
I'm new to BYC and have a burning question I need help with. I can't seem to find much corroborating that it's happened to others but it happened to me! I got 4 chicks in March. RIR, Ameraucana, Black Jersey Giant and Buff Brahma. They all didn't start laying until they were about 24 weeks. My Ameraucana started off by laying green and sometimes blueish eggs. No mistaking it was her. Suddenly while I was on vacation in Summer, my mom said one of them laid a pink egg! Since then, I have gotten not a SINGLE green or blueish tinged egg! Only PINK! I waited to see if it would return to the other color, but it's been probably 5 months of her only laying pinks! And it's not that she's not laying anymore, because while obviously egg production has slowed because of Winter, there are still days where I get 4 and they're all tan and 1 pink!

What the heck? Anyone else ever had that?!

I would suggest that because she is a cross breed, it is a simple thing about her single gene for the blue green egg being deactivated by more dominant genes on the paired chromosome. I am sure she is not sick at all. I have an EE which did the same thing in the last year. The colour change for mine coincided with the pea comb turning into a multipoint comb. As the genes for pea comb and blue green egg sit next to each other on the one chromosome, the activation of the multipoint comb on the other chromosome may have deactivated or over-ridden the green egg gene.in mine the egg became palest buff and over time has darkened to be a light plum colour. I am glad I am not the only one who has experienced this. The egg on the left is her own daughter's egg who is only 1/4 Araucana and she is still laying blue green, whereas mother EE first laying blue green, then laying light buff, now pinky eggs is on the right is 1/2 Araucana. Go figure. Genes are fun, that's all.