bradyaveblooms

In the Brooder
Mar 2, 2024
Hi all! I’m new to BYC, however, I’ve been looking up amazing advice here since 2014. We are a family of four and like many, started with 6 chicks and ending up with 20, lol.

Well, last week we received our first ever shipped chicks, 16 of them (to meet the minimum of course). We ordered from Meyer’s Hatchery, and got our girls (hopefully all are actually girls, there are a couple suspicious ones), next day, alive and peeping. We noticed one chick, our chocolate Orpington, had one eye that was closed. We took pictures and contacted Meyers, who were wonderful, but couldn’t really help other than saying it looked inflamed and possibly a hatch mate pecked it. So, after reading everything I could, we’ve been following @Eggcessive advice and have been using a warm compress to soften, sterile saline with a plastic medicine syringe to wash debris and moisturize, and unmedicated Neosporin in and around the eye with my finger and a q-tip. However, there is a white opaque film and the eyelids are swollen. I did see muscle movement of the eyelids tonight though she can’t close it, and I can see a black eyeball in there moving. There has been some improvement over the last 3 days, but Wink does scratch at it after we put the neosporin on (not excessively though and we did clip the very sharp tips off her toenails), no chicks pick on her, she’s eating, drinking and pooping good. No respiratory symptoms. She has rubbed the feathers off the top corner of her wing but I treat that too. I don’t have a vet in my rural area that sees birds. Is there anything I can do? We are ordering the chicken specific eye ointment and various sprays. We just want to help because she gets around well, and we already had one loss. Please advise! Thank you so much!

Pictures:

#1 When we opened the shipping box, she’s to the right of the orange one

#2-4 The eye on day 2 and what we showed Meyers

#5-6 Tonight after treatment (3rd day)

#7 opposite eye