First Time Egg Candler Scared!

coleson12

Chirping
Mar 28, 2015
North Carolina
Hi, this is my first time candling eggs, and I dont see any veins! What day should you start to see veins and a embryo. I see a dark spot that is floating around but it is large almost like a yolk. Is it the yolk? I got my eggs from a friend that said all the eggs should be fertile. Its day 5. What should I do!? Thanks in advance

Hey AmyLynn,
I had 2 pips before I left for work. My wife called and said one hatched before she left for work. Neither of us will be home for the next 9 hours or so. Whatever will the little fella do? No one to take him out, all alone. My goodness, he may actually dry out in there. How in the world can they hatch if I'm not there to chew my nails off?
lol.png

You horrible person... I'm gonna drive down there and get it out!
big_smile.png

Just remember your air cell will shift some if you had them in a turner upright, then laid them down for lockdown. So just below your drawn line is good. It is likely still in the air pocket!

Congrats on the pip sideWing. I feel like an expectant Aunt! Lol

I just finished my hour & a half drive from the city. This is a great way to relax a little. the drive is so stressful great to hear the classroom hatch was a great success SideWings hatch and incubator doing really well. awesome !!!!!!!!!! give your selves a pat on the back its a very good day today. I went through all of this last year alone without realizing what an amazing group of people the hatch squad of the BYC are.

I'm totally open to feedback and I really appreciate it. The problem with my temp spike was my 3 yo. When you have chicks hatching a 3 yo it's hard to keep them away.
sad.png
I'm building a new bigger bator with an automatic turner I found localy for $25. I will start with some neighbors sexlink eggs. (I know they won't be sexlink chicks
wink.png
) and sell them as backyard chickens.