Magpie2

Songster
Dec 7, 2021
I a few have eggs incubating and we’re less than a week away from hatching. I also have a broody who I didn’t let sit on any eggs until recently so she’s definitely not reached her 21 day mark. There is also another hen who I think has gone broody as well now, they sit happily in the same box and make raptor noises.

I don’t want to put the eggs under either of them before they hatch because the very broody one is partially blind in one eye and she struggles to keep the dud egg she has under herself sometimes, and the other hen hasn’t shown me that she wants to sit on eggs yet, she’s still walking around outside of the box most of the time.

The plan is to let the chicks hatch and dry off, then sneak them under the very broody one that night. I’m pretty sure she’ll take them but I’ve never done this before so let me know if I should be doing anything differently.

I’m also tempted to leave the not as broody girl in with her friend and let them both raise the kids together. Would this be okay? Are there any risks?
The two ladies get along for the most part but they very broody one has chased the other around a few times before she started sitting on her egg.

They’re both pretty friendly even when broody it seems. I can reach in to touch them, pick them up, take the egg, etc. they’re very sweet girls. I could probably be more hands on with them and the chicks if necessary.

1681008910312.jpeg

The little bantam Cochin is the very broody one and the speckled Sussex is the not as broody one. We were treating the Sussex for frostbite (finally healed now 🥳) so they’re in a pen inside already and it could easily be converted into a brooder.

I let two hens hatch together: they went broody at the same time and sat on the same bunch of eggs but one was actually less broody and less commited than the other. I never had any aggression problem within my flock, so I gave them a try. It worked perfectly and they were the sweetest thing to watch.