First time incubating - Coturnix Quail eggs. Air sac too small? And other questions

Linita

Chirping
Dec 16, 2022
Hi,

This is my first time incubating eggs. They're Coturnix Quail shipped eggs. From 41 eggs I started with I'm now left with 19 developed eggs that I have just put into lockdown. The rest didn't develop or died at day 5-6. We're at day 15 right now.

It's the first time I do this, I started with zero knowledge. The thing is, I followed a guy's guide on YouTube and he said to don't worry about the humidity as long as it's above 55% so that's what I did. It has been raining nonstop since I put the eggs and the humidity on average id say it has been around 63% inside the incubator. But I didn't worry. A couple days ago I discovered that guy was totally wrong and humidity shouldn't be that high because the air sac doesn't develop enough, so the chick doesn't have space to move around for hatching and also may don't find enough oxygen after the first pip.

Last two days I left the eggs at 40% humidity to compensate a bit but today I was supposed to start lockdown so I did.

I can't find any clear photos online as of how the air sacs should be looking on day 14 for quail eggs.
I candled my eggs and the sizes vary
But more than half look too little to me, what do you think?
I pencil drew the air sacs so you can see.
Are they too small?
Is there anything I can do?

I have read a guide here about how to assist eggs and safety holes but I'm full of questions.

The guy in the guide said to candle the eggs daily since the airsac starts dipping. But if you're in lockdown, aren't you supposed to not to open the incubator, at least until most chicks have hatched?
I understand this is to prevent chicks from shrink wrap if the humidity drops. But can it drop so drastically by just opening for a few seconds? If I'm very quick I can open and take out an egg with the humidity not going below 58% or so. Is it ok to open and candle?