Hen crowing

Laurenwill93

Chirping
5 Years
Feb 1, 2019
I have a silkie hen that I’ve seen lay eggs, but is now crowing. It’s acting dominant like a rooster, standing like a rooster, and crows like one.. I’ve had chickens around 9 years and I’ve never experienced this.
We have 2 roosters in the flock and I know she was a hen, but I swear even her comb has gotten bigger... She is a mature, over a year old lady (3-4)
Will she continue to lay or will that stop?

(We just sold 2 roosters (seramas) about 2 weeks ago and we were left with 1 serama and 1 silkie rooster.)
Could the reduction in roosters have “sparked” this sudden change? Even though we still have 2 roosters.
Also if she is standing like a rooster and she’s looking/acting like a rooster will she go back to acting like a hen ever or is this a permanent change ??

Last edited:
Can you attach a photo of her? I also have a hen that crows every once in a while. She mostly crows if she sees me gardening and it makes her incredibly mad she isn’t outside with me. She has great rooster posture and her crow (used) to sound just like a seramas crow. Some hens are dominate and do crow.

The black/blue is the hen. The splash is our silkie rooster. She has the body shape of a hen but she crows, stands like a rooster, and she’s been jumping/fussing at the other ladies like roosters do with eachother.

Attachments

• IMG_6823.jpeg
    IMG_6823.jpeg
    625.9 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_6824.jpeg
    IMG_6824.jpeg
    626.3 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_6827.jpeg
    IMG_6827.jpeg
    785.1 KB · Views: 12
Are you sure you have seen this bird lay eggs? Could you get a video of the bird crowing and upload it to YouTube? Silkies are incredibly hard to sex. I’ll see if I can call over others to help with this as I am personally stumped.

We have a dna confirmed hen who crows on top of the coop. Every. Single. Day. 🤣 (a little sebright hen who’s name is Princess)