How many Quail for a 5x5 foot area?

FauxintheCoop

Songster
Apr 7, 2021
Hello!
Fresh out of the egg newbie here; I’m moving to a place where I will have about 5x5 ft area to keep some corturnix quail in! My plan is to make an aviary type enclosure covering that whole area and put 1 or 2 coops inside that area. The coops I’m planning to have them be probably ~2ft wide, 2ft deep and no more than 12inches tall on the inside with a shelf underneath for poop collection. They will mainly function as bedtime pens and extra protection from weather (Not that we have much weather here in California)
I’ve done a bit of research already so I know the male to female ratio needs to be a big difference but I don’t know how many quail would comfortably fit in an area that size without risk of fighting/overpopulation. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
-Jessica

Are you planning to keep your birds caged at all times in the 2x2 cages or are you planning on letting them run free in the 5x5-ft area?

You do realize that quail don't put themselves to bed in a coop at night like chickens do, right?

Are you planning to keep your birds caged at all times in the 2x2 cages or are you planning on letting them run free in the 5x5-ft area?

You do realize that quail don't put themselves to bed in a coop at night like chickens do, right?
Hello!
My plan is to let them run around during the day and put them away in the coops at night and during any unpleasant weather. It doesn’t get too extreme where I live, just some high temps on occasion. So yes, I’d be the one putting them back in the coops.

Hello!
My plan is to let them run around during the day and put them away in the coops at night and during any unpleasant weather. It doesn’t get too extreme where I live, just some high temps on occasion. So yes, I’d be the one putting them back in the coops.