I'm a chick mamma newbie - 3 week old chicks in coop question PLEASE HELP!

Dgrundy14

Chirping
May 28, 2016
Leeds, Alabama
I have 4 chicks that are around 3 weeks old. They are in the upper coop but I was wondering how soon they can handle a ramp. I want to let them go down to the grass but I'm worried I won't be able to get them back in the coop at night. I just want to make sure they go up at night.
Second thing, does it matter if it rains and they are down below the coop?

Thanks so much for anyone who can help! here is a photo of my chicks as of yesterday and my coop.

big_smile.png
My chicks were out on grass and scaling the ribbed ramp at that age.
Let them try it. They will love that grass and catching little buggies to eat!
Just supervise them, you will be surprised at their agility.
If it rains, go out and see if they go back into the coop.
If they do, that's great. If they don't, that's ok too. They have protection due to your coop/run style.

Your chicks are adorable and you have a nice home for them.
I would kindly suggest that you bring their food and water to the run while they are out.
I wish you the best!

Last edited:
I agree, let them out.

You may need to help them get back in a couple of times, but they will probably figure it out on their own. If you are feeding crumbles or pellets, you don't need grit but if you are letting them eat grass (which is great, good for them) give them some grit. That can be purchased, or just some clean sand or dirt - they will need it to handle the grass or other greens.

Enjoy them, you won't believe how entertained you can be watching them.

Great minds think alike! I got a video and here is a picture. They are having a blast I just hope it's not raining when I have to put them to bed!