Need ideas for bumblefoot in wet weather

fat brown hen

Songster
Jun 12, 2022
I have been treating my rooster for bumblefoot for over 6 months. Daily soaks in either epsom salts or neomycin, followed by vetwrap. He was getting better, but I had to take a break due to health reasons and it got a bit worse. He's 5+ years old, and his feet are deformed from unintentional fighting.

I think we can continue to make progress, but we'll have cold/wet weather for the next several months and I don't think vetwrap will hold up.

Is there some sort of dressing that I can apply to the bottom of his toe? something like a sprayable bandage that will stay put while he's scratching. Alternatively, does there exist a waterproof "chicken shoe" that can cover the whole foot? Ideally something easy to apply and remove, because we are doing this nearly every day and I am tired.

Attached photos of the wound. It smells like death but he is in good spirit.

Attachments

• toe2.JPG
    toe2.JPG
    366.3 KB · Views: 48
  • toe.JPG
    toe.JPG
    278.6 KB · Views: 13
Our property is rocky so my chickens walk on rocks and sticks all day long.We also have a lot of fill dirt on the property esp around the chicken coop and run .Presently 3 of my older hens have it and 2 hens I got as chicks last fall. I've read deficiencies in their diet can make them more susceptible but my hens are very healthy otherwise.

I presently use vinyl flooring on the wood floor underneath the roosting bars but will be switching to these plastic kennel panels in my next build.They come in 2 foot by 5 foot sections that can be secured to a wood frame base

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-11-21 9.06.38 PM.png
    Screenshot 2023-11-21 9.06.38 PM.png
    348.1 KB · Views: 12