Nutrition help for chickens with Marek's Disease

NimsHouseGarden

Chirping
Mar 21, 2023
This is my first year raising chickens. I hatched 10 Silkies and bought 3 more from a local breeder. I have been feeding them Naturewise Starter feed (linked) since I have a rooster in my flock. I recently discovered that I have a Marek's disease infection and lost 3 hens in about 3 weeks. My vet noted that all three birds were very thin. Again, since this is my first time I do not know what to look for when assessing a chickens weight. I stick to the 90% feed and 10% treats rule and make sure they always have access to food etc. I assume they are thin due to the disease. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to boost their caloric and nutritional intake? I want them to have the best chance of beating this disease. I am worried about feeding them extra things that may not be nutritionally complete. I would consider switching feed and providing supplements.

Thanks!

https://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/p..._rcD_ldJ3C9C7vUH5AlmWNHF6HenFkChoC88IQAvD_BwE

I’m so sorry, this can be tough. I’m curious, how was Marek’s determined? Did you get a necropsy?

Really the best thing is to keep up what you’re doing. Their feed is the best thing for them without a lot of treats. If they are adults then an all flock would work with oyster shell on the side for the girls.

Being thin, are they eating ok? My flock LOVES a wet mash from time to time. I ferment a days worth of no corn pigeon feed, what I use for scratch, and dump it into a bowl of feed and let it soak up all the liquid, they go nuts for it. You can try fermenting feed and giving that once in a while too to encourage them to eat. Also, my flock will more readily eat pellets over crumbles. I don’t know why.

I’m so sorry, this can be tough. I’m curious, how was Marek’s determined? Did you get a necropsy?