Poop, mud, and more poop!

Kijani11

Hatching
Feb 28, 2024
I need some advice. Recently moved to my in-laws farm, and I absolutely hate our chicken coup/run. We have about 10-12 birds, and they have a large coup and their own yard that's fenced off (even though they jump over it for the grass on the other side). I'm in Canada and this year our winter has been very wet, there is no grass left in the run. We also have 5 ducks who live in the run. Basically the issue is the ground, it's absolutely covered in poop, and I guess has some straw under it with mud mixed in. When I step around I literally pick it up with my boot and can see an under layer, and the entire place stinks to high heaven. I am new to this and trying to manage the maintenance of it all (even being pregnant) because my in-laws are getting too old to care about doing anything. It's just a space full of poop and mud now, and I have no idea how that's supposed to get cleaned. Raking it sounds unreasonable as it would just be raking mud.. shoveling it would be just as hard and extremely heavy. I am at a loss.

Last edited:
How was the drainage at the location before you added the birds?

What is the litter you're currently using? You mentioned straw, but when was it placed there? Has it been refreshed since?

How large is the run?

I would also recommend chunky wood chips in order to provide drainage and to help stabilize the soil. However that will only work if existing drainage in the location is good.

Like @nuthatched mentioned, if you can get free mulch from tree companies, that will be your best solution for now.

or you can get the pave stones from Home Depot to make a walk path for humans to walk through (for now! a quick solution). Pavers are relatively inexpensive, $2 each, and you just need to put them on some strategic spots. But if you don't solve the drainage problem, over time the pavers will sink into the mud.