Re-post: Help Identifying Breed of Chicks

ENor70

Chirping
Sep 16, 2015
(I originally posted this in 'Raising Baby Chicks', and probably should have posted it here. Sorry.) Hi All: As I've mentioned in another post, I'm new to chicken raising, so I need a little help from the folks at BYC, if you'd be so inclined. I ordered 28 chicks (plus the free 'exotic chick') from McMurray a while back. When they showed up in the mail at the end of March, I had 34 chicks, a few of which I lost right off the bat. Anyway, I ordered Silver-Laced Wyandottes (8 of them), Columbian Wyandottes (8 of them), Black Australorps (6 of them), and Speckled Sussex (6 of them). I don't have any problem telling those four breeds from each other; at almost a month old their feathers are easily discernible. However, I've got 4 all yellow chicks that I don't have a clue what they are. I've thought maybe Leghorns, or Cornish, or a couple other breeds . . . but I am literally guessing. @ChickenLover200 , in the 'Raising Baby Chicks' forum suggested Golden Sex Link. I'm still wondering if they're not Pearl White Leghorns. Either way, I think McMurray 'gifted me' some extras. :) Any help is appreciated. Here are some pix (sorry for the cruddy quality):

Last edited:
@chicken girl 01 - thanks for the quick reply. They are solid yellow at 4 weeks old.

Honestly White Plymouth Rocks and Leghorns are a lot a like when they are younger, but as they grow Leghorns will be slimmer and White Plymouth Rock will be heavier. I'm leaning towards White Plymouth Rock though.

Thanks, @Chicken Girl1. I'll keep watching them and post a picture or two down the road when they're bigger.

Here's an update from today. Does this pic offer a better guess for the breed? Thanks!

@chicken girl 01 - I'm with you; I'd guess it is a cockerel too. They are just shy of 1 1/2 months old.

Here's an update from today. Does this pic offer a better guess for the breed? Thanks!