Suggestions in coop door design

thomp119

Songster
9 Years
Feb 11, 2010
North Tustin, CA
I am making a 3x3 raised coop with an attached run. I have purchased composite siding for the walls and I am wondering how to go about building an "access door" for me to clean the coop out. My options are:

1. Mount the siding horizontally and cut out the shape of the door and add hinges. (Like in the pic directly below)

2. Mount the siding vertically and add two swinging doors (hinges mounted on the outside corners of the frame)

3. Mount the siding, cut out a hole and add a plywood door. (Not a door made from the siding) this would cause the door to stick out away from the structure.

I am worried that the composite material will not wear well with the movement of the hinges. Does anyone have experience that would tell me otherwise? Of course every side will be primed and painted (inside and out)

Any input would be super helpful. :)

I really only finished my coop today so i'm a newb but we used the composite siding vertically and built a 2 x 4 frame that recessed inside the door frame. So from the front the siding is flush but inside it has a support frame. Next we will probably install a screen door inside that. Our hinges are all on the outside for look , we used the ornate triangular gate hinges and locks so it looks nice. Later we will trim and frame the door and door frame with 1 x 2s for look but now it's straight on the siding.