thinking of throwing in the towel next yr or doing a no brainer crop

kmatt87

Songster
7 Years
Apr 13, 2012
Northern Colorado
the soil here in co has alot of clay in it and the saying that the area for the garden is a piece of work is an understatement. I've been working on the soil for 2 yrs and am slowly seeing improvement but between the quality and the heat i'm not pulling in enough produce to make it worth the work.

I was thinking of planting something that would do well in a warmer area of the yard and handle the soil ok. Any suggestions? If not, i might just spend next summer trying to increase the quality of the soil as much as possible.

I don't know what really grows well in clay, but if I were you, I'd try to amend the soil as much as possible right up until it freezes. Try to get some horse manure and add your chicken manure to the garden (make sure they've aged a bit) and till it in. In Spring do the same. Also, do you have a compost pile? If so, toss that in the mix going into the garden. If not, I'd get one going. I compost as much as I can, and till the whole pile, plus leaves into the garden in the Fall and do the same in the Spring. My garden did pretty well this year and I am expecting it to improve each year.

I've always heard you can improve clay soil (but not sandy soil). I'm sure it takes a while, but you already got two years under your belt and I think Year #3 will be a lot better.

Hope this helps.
Sheila