what is going on with my chickens? Bald spots? (pics)

Christie Rhae

Songster
9 Years
Jul 5, 2010
Big Island, Hawaii
My hens are all hatched last summer. This is my first year with chickens and we are loving it.
My girls are laying lots of eggs and seem otherwise healthy except lately I have been noticing weird bald spots. At first I thought it was normal molting ( they have not really molted yet that I can tell) but the bald patches do not seem to go away and not all the chickens have the bald spots. I have 16 hens and no roosters. They do not roam free cuz of loose dogs. We live in Hawaii and the weather is pretty much the same all year. What can this be? Molting? bugs? hen pecking? help!!

example of a scraggly bottom...
IMG_7437.jpg

a few chickens have this...bald around the tail.
IMG_7438.jpg

worst of the bald bottoms. It has been this way for several weeks.
IMG_7440.jpg

another bald around tail feathers.
IMG_7443.jpg

and some are totally unaffected..
IMG_7442.jpg

That's not molting, they would look sort of raggedy, and it doesn't start on their bottoms but on their head/necks. That is pecking/feather picking. The one with the bare back looks overmated. I know you said you have no rooster so I wonder if you have a hen who is mounting other hens. The ones who have no damage are probably the ones doing most of the damage. Likely they need more space and/or more protein.

here are some threads about this from the FAQ page:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=34705
https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=31291
https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=36139
https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=30486

I have seen one of the larger hens mounting others. She lays eggs and does not crow so I just figured she was top hen and got all butch...I think I have read about that.