10 Week Old Chicken Dead

Basia St Clair

Songster
Apr 28, 2020
Alabama
My Coop
My Coop
Y'all, I'm devastated. I'm new to chicken ownership. I was not going to get attached, yet name my chickens. Both happened. I'm attached and I have (had) 4 beautiful baby chicks from TSC. 2 Asian Black and 2 I.S.A. Brown.

There is tons of amazing information on this forum. Unfortunately, one of the things it cant prepare you for is loosing your first chicken. I want to know what happened. I want to go back in time and put a camera in the coop. I cried! My boyfriend had to get her out of the coop because I couldn't even look at the lifeless body. BUCK UP, Buttercup. Welcome to chicken ownership!

I made a few mistakes due to my lack of knowledge. I didn't even know what to do with a dead chicken! Do I bury it? Throw it in the woods? Take it to the vet?

Bury it won out. I put a little cross of sticks on her grave. Her name was Finger.

Long story, longer. Finger was always a little aggressive. She was kinda a pushy, bully. I had suspicions that she might be a he. She would literally push the other birds off the perch sometimes.

Two nights ago the girls reluctantly march up their ladder to go into the coop. They were all healthy looking, happy. Nothing suspicious at all. Next morning when I open the poop door out walk 3 chickens. UH OH! Don't look, don't look, don't do it.....you have to do it.........and there she was, lifeless on the floor of the coop.😢. I ran to get my boyfriend, crying the entire time I'm telling him about her. He carried her out of the coop and we buried her without looking her over good.......because....because i was so upset I wasn't thinking straight.