Beginner Questions (Lots of Help Needed)

Animallover8

Hatching
May 22, 2019
Hello! This is my first post and I hope this is being posted in the right place.

I have 2 full-sized horses right now but I will be selling one. I originally planned on getting a Miniature Horse to be a companion for the full-sized horse left but I want to try a goat. My horse is very easy going so I think that it'll go well. If not, I will have to rehome the goat. So now that you know the back story, I have some questions. Please keep in mind that I have little knowledge on goats but I've been doing a lot of research. So first let me tell you what I want out of owning a goat.

1. I want a fairly large, friendly, well behaved (quiet too) goat to hopefully be best friends with my horse. If all goes well and I love goat keeping then I would love to try getting into dairy. Maybe have kids once a year. Eventually sell the kids and use the milk. (I'm thinking that Saanen goats would probably be best for me.) However, I'm worried that the doe would become distant from my horse when it has kids. (They wouldn't even be able to be kept in the same paddock I assume.) Any ideas? Also, there don't seem to be tons of bucks, or goats period, around me. I would prefer not to keep a buck at home. How much would a Saanen kid be worth approximately?

2. Now the worming topic. I've heard of people doing it many different ways but I've heard good things about the deworming supplements. Do you feed then 24/7 or just whenever they need to be determined?

3. When if comes to fencing I know that it can be difficult. I have a combination of 2 strand electric fencing at 7000 volts. (The bottom wire is about 2 feet off the ground. The top wire is about 3 feet off the ground.) I also have wooden fence with 4 boards. It also have welding wire stapled to the inside of it. Lastly I have woven wire horse fence with t-posts. Will all of these work?