Building my first lightweight Chicken Tractor

Scruffyfeathers

In the Brooder
Feb 16, 2015
Griffin Georgia

I am a newbie in the BYC world. Almost two months as a member and loving it. For the past month I have been clearing the underbrush from a small grove of aged pines for my chickens. I intend on starting with five hens and a rooster but want to build my stock to 15 or more as I learn to care for them properly.

Now that the undergrowth is cleared the area looks great and is covered with old and fresh pine needles at least 6 inches deep and no weeds or grass. The terrain is relatively flat and level although I do need to use the backhoe to pull the root systems of the scrub-brush. I did mulch all the pine needles and it has rained several times since I started the project. Now the texture is thick as well as plush and teaming with organic life forms i.e. worms, bugs, beetles and such. From what I have read, this is a good thing.

On rainy days (and there has been quite a few this past March) I plop my butt down at the computer, log in to BYC and read, and read and read.

While I have been spending a considerable amount of time grooming their range it only made sense that I look into building a coop or chicken tractor. Again, BYC to the rescue. To get ideas I studied the many varied varieties and styles of coops and tractors available. I elected to build a chicken tractor to house a minimum of 20 chickens just in case the 15 are added to. After all, I am only starting with six birds.

Noting the required space per chicken I decided on an 100 sq. ft. raised tractor/coop with a 240 sq. ft. enclosed run (100 sq. ft. directly below the coop). This may be a bit much but I am new at this and would rather error on the side of providing more than enough room rather than too little.