Chicken run bedding

dottie15

Chirping
May 18, 2022
Hello, I’m fairly new to raising chickens and I’m still learning a lot along the way. I’m looking for suggestions on what to lay down in the chicken run. The coop was on compacted dirt until the chickens started digging holes. Now there’s loose dirt and to keep the run dry and give them something to scratch around in, I provide a layer of fresh orchard throughout the run almost everyday. I pick up their poop everyday and whatever amount of orchard that gets thrown away with poop, I end up replacing with a new layer of orchard. My concern is that the dirt is too loose and the coop becomes very dusty. I even start to feel it when I’m in there cleaning. I noticed that 2 of my 6 chickens sneeze here and there (no cough, no trouble breathing, they still eat, drink, forage and are active). I don’t ever want to underestimate anything so I went out and purchased vetrx that I’m going to apply to all 6 chickens tomorrow. I also added fresh oregano and thyme to their feed because I’ve been reading it helps with respiratory. Does anyone think that they may be developing a respiratory infection or can it be that the coop area is just too dusty for them? It’s supposed to rain a little in socal this weekend but I still plan on completely cleaning the run, coop, feeder, waterers, their toys and provide a frees layer of run bedding. Any suggestions on bedding? And any idea why my two hens sneeze every once in a while? Thanks in advance. The picture attached is just to show my chickens. I can provide pictures of the coop and run tomorrow. Thanks again!

Attachments

• IMG_6871.jpeg
    IMG_6871.jpeg
    936.5 KB · Views: 52
fresh orchard
?? What is this?
purchased vetrx that I’m going to apply to all 6 chickens tomorrow
It won't do anything. It's like Vicks Vaporub for humans. It doesn't cure anything.
I also added fresh oregano and thyme to their feed because I’ve been reading it helps with respiratory