First Time - Hatching Duck Eggs

Mudstar4ever

Songster
9 Years
Jun 5, 2011
Grass Valley, California
Hi all -
Excited to officially meet you all! I'm relatively new to the Backyard Chickens community (technically joined in 2011, more on that later). I'm back home with my parents riding out this shelter-in-place in northern California and my project this spring is to hatch and raise a duckling or two. I would say I'm totally new to this and excited to have community support as I navigate the unknown! :)

I ordered the Magicfly Digital Mini Fully Automatic Egg Incubator on Amazon and am scheduled to receive it this Saturday / Sunday, of which I'm also driving to a local farm to purchase my two duck eggs. It seems like it got great reviews, so I'm excited to try it out! Has anyone had any experience with this incubator and have any tips / tricks for working it?

I'll continue to keep this thread updated, but excited to swap insights with everyone!

P.S.
My background with raising waterfowl - 13 years ago I found a goose egg half-submerged in our pond next to a nest that had been slain by a raccoon :( . I literally put that egg under a lamp for a week before we did a little homework and bought a Little Giants incubator from Ace Hardware. With zero experience at all, lo and behold, that darn thing hatched and I had the amazing experience of raising a little gosling for a few months before we found another home for him. In retrospect, the stars must have aligned for that little guy, because now that I've done a little research, there were so many reasons why he should not have survived (a desk lamp? Really?) but he was truly a miracle and I would love to re-create the experience - a little smarter now!