New to chickens and site

Emmuh

In the Brooder
Jul 20, 2017
Albany, NY
Hey everyone! This site has been a great resource to me starting up my small coop! I am brand new to this whole chicken thing. I recently cared for my friends chickens while she was out of town for 2 weeks and I decided, hey why not?

My Ladies: We purchased three - 3 month old ISA browns. Day 1 they already have varying personalities.
How did I find BackYardChickens.com? Various Google searches on how to start up my coop.
Family/Pets: We have 2 black cats, 2 dogs. All rescues! Working on proper introductions and training with my pups and the chickens. They were WAY too excited day 1 - decided to let everyone calm down and take it slow today after work. In my house is my father, my boyfriend, and every weekend - my step daughter (6 yrs. old). My step daughter LOVED my friends chickens so she is going to have a blast this weekend!

Good morning and Welcome to BYC!
We are glad you joined.
This video should help you find your way around, enjoy!

Hello and welcome to BYC

You'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/category/learning-center.11/ and if you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

You may wish to consider joining your state thread as it will put you in touch with other BYC members in your area - http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread#post_3239224

All the best

CT

Hey everyone! This site has been a great resource to me starting up my small coop! I am brand new to this whole chicken thing. I recently cared for my friends chickens while she was out of town for 2 weeks and I decided, hey why not?