Goats keep escaping!!!

DogIsMyShepherd

Songster
Jul 12, 2019
Canada
I have two 5-6 month old mini Nubian wethers and they keep escaping from their fence. They live in a baby barn with a 50x100ft enclosure. Their fence is a 4 foot high supposed to be no climb goat/sheep fencing, secured onto Wooden fence posts.
For a while one would escape every once in a while by going under the fence but he would stay around cause he didn’t want to leave the other goat that was still in the fence.

We fixed the fence by using big lawn staples so they could not climb under. Now I don’t know if they’re climbing over or how they are getting out but they are escaping everyday. Today they got out while I was sleeping(I’m a nurse and working nights) and went to my neighbours and were pooping on their step. They had to call my mom to come over and get them I felt awful. I love my goats coco and kinder I bottle fed them and they are so friendly. But if I can’t contain them I will have to give them away. I don’t want to do that it will break my heart. So I’m thinking of trying electric fencing. But I know absolutely nothing about it. Is anyone familiar with it and uses it for their goats?

What kind of fencing? 4x4 wire needs to be tensioned REALLY good or it's useless. Electric is probably best way to go if it's possible.

Goats are escape artists, but if they are content where they are, they are less likely to escape. Is there anything in their environment that would make them uncomfortable? Do they have plenty of food, water, shade, and a comfortable dry place to lie down?