Hi Fellow Duck Lovers!

MummyToTwins

Chirping
8 Years
Dec 12, 2011
Marblehead MA
Hi Fellow Duck Lovers!

I’m a newbie to the board and have some questions.

But first, my back story.

Six and a half years ago while my husband were doing IVF (which wasn’t working) I had a very Freudian urge to hatch something…anything! Strange but true…I’m afraid of chickens. Crazy huh? So I bought some duck eggs and a cheap incubator on eBay and out of the three eggs we got one duckling. In fact Pete hatched the day we found out we were pregnant with twins! And how we loved our pet duck Pete. But due to complications with the pregnancy I had to give him up as I could no longer care for him. It was very sad.
However my twins, now aged almost five, and I are ready to be duck-keepers again in the spring.
I’m most interested in a breed that makes for a calm, quiet pet that will also give eggs.
Would a mix of Jumbo Pekins and Khaki Campbells get along together?
I’m thinking all females as I don’t want to hatch again. Is this okay or should I get a male too?
Our garden is fully enclosed by a fence but we do have coyotes in the area so we’d have to have a pen that closes. Is there a model coop that people can recommend?
At what age to the ducks start laying?
Do we need to clip wings or will the ducks stay were the food is?
We’re north of Boston MA so it can get very cold. Do people just use a heat lamp or bring the ducks in at night in the winter?
Any other advice would be much appreciated.
Cheers!

welcome-byc.gif

I used to have campbells and regular pekins and they got together just fine, and no, all females is fine. They should start laying at about six months of age. As far as winter, as long as they can get out of the weather they do not need any heat. Good Luck and again,
welcome-byc.gif