Is there a story behind the breed of ducks you have?

416bigbore

Ruffus and Big Boy
Jun 11, 2020
NC
As A Newbie here to the BYC Duck section of the Forum. I am curious if there is any reasoning behind why people pick the breed of Ducks they have? With the understanding that there are members who have adopted abandoned and or rescue Ducks, which I think is very AWESOME! :)

Being a Newbie to raising Ducks but not Chickens, my choice of Duck wasn't that difficult having been raised in ND, the Mallard. We lived in the fly zone for all the different type of migratory waterfowl that would go North in the spring and South in the fall.

Living in a small rural farming community we had a small water hole/ pond behind our house that the ducks would stop and hang out at from time to time. There were all different types of ducks that would stop there, the Mallard was the duck I was most impressed with. IMO, not only a very beautiful duck, but a very loud Duck with a distinctive QUACK! QUACK ! QUACK ! QUACK ! QUACK! LOL I just loved to hear that sound and would watch them for hours as they took a rest and would be on their way. The Canadian Goose is another one of my favorite waterfowl with their LOUD, HONK ! HONK! HONK! as they flew over.

This is my brief story explaining my love behind the Mallard breed of Fowl, I would love to hear your stories. . :)

History of the Indian Runner Duck

Indian Runners came from the East Indies and, as one would expect, they run rather than waddle. The name is fairly explicit, but it does not do justice to one of the most extraordinary of domestic ducks. They are unique in the extreme body shape and posture, looking to the inexperienced eye more like hock bottles than normal ducks. Yet it was their utility value as egg layers that brought them and their fame to the UK country, where they were exhibited in Dumfries in 1876 and Kendal in 1896.