Mother-Cluckerhood: the exiting journey of imprinting baby chicks

Do you approve of puns?

• Shell no!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Feb 18, 2019
As a new chicken owner, i thought it would only be necessary to give some advice to new parents out there who want to imprint their chicks, and ask for advice from expirienced mother-cluckers.
15506160627724987844780517244541.jpg

First of all, when i started planning for chickens 2 years ago, i had the mindset of imprinting them. for those who don't know, imprinting is the proscess of a newborn animal, such as chicks or ducklings, recognizing and trusting a parental figure. when done right, an imprinted bird will see you as their mother and form a deep bond with you. however, i had never heard of anyone imprinting a chick before, and i decided to try it.
15506161183646998755792344115325.jpg

as a recommendation, i studied intensely on chicken language and behavior as to mimic a mother hen. i would advise to anyone trying this to read How to Speak Chicken by Melissa Caughey, but i'll just give you the basic run down of the most important vocilizations.in order to call her chicks, a mother hen will make a soft doh doh doh noise to call her babies. if she finds something tasty, like a worm, she'll make a loud tik tik tik and her brood will come running. if she spots danger, she makes a soft but distinct screeee opp opp opp to warn her chicks. when the sun sets, she will call them and make a low doo doo doo to take roll call. with this in mind, alli had to do was practice my vocabulary until i mastered the calls.
20190219_162143.jpg