moving egg with crack instead of pip (hatch day)

BOchickmama4

Chirping
Mar 25, 2023
Hello everyone, I am new to BYC and this is my first time hatching eggs!

I started off setting 5 eggs from my own chickens in the incubator, I candled them at day 9 and all of them had clear living embryos in them.
and then i candled them again on day 16, a week after the first candling and 4 had clear embryos in and one looked very behind and wasn't moving, but i decided to candle that egg again when i put them into lockdown on day 18, and when i did so that one looked the same, so I took that one out. :hit

Then yesterday, day 20, my first egg pipped!!! But the pip is on the pointy end of the egg. And now, 22 hours later she's still there not looking much different. I have read that chicks who are facing away from the air cell can take longer to hatch. I am worried the membrane is drying out. When should I be concerned?

Then at around 6am on Day 21 the second egg pipped, this time in the right place!

Around an hour ago I noticed that another one of the eggs had a small crack (that didn't look like a pip or a zip) in the place a normal egg would zip, and the chick is alive and cheeping to me while pushing at the shell. This really confuses me as i've never read about this happening anywhere?!? Has anyone else experienced this?

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Malpositioned chick pipped on the wrong end:
20230325_085849.jpg

The egg with the crack:
20230325_154046.jpg

I had shipped eggs that all the air cells were totally detached and the ones that tried to hatch pipped on the small end and didn’t hatch. When 2 other eggs did the same thing after several hours of not progressing I helped them out of the shells. 1 of the 2 is okay but has a bit of trouble with a foot as it didn’t have alot of room to grow in the shell because of the air cell. The other chick is really not doing well, it can’t even stand on it’s own because it was growing in such a tiny area.