Need advice on care needs of a cockatiel!

SeptemberQuail

Songster
7 Years
Oct 10, 2012
Australia
Hi all.

A family friend is giving me a 4 month old, male cockatiel who was raised by its mother.
This is my very first time owning a caged bird so I would appreciate any advice that can be given!

I did research yesterday and just need to ask a few questions.
Basically, I have a bird cage, toys and food.

I'm just wondering:

1. What other foods should I give it? I read I should feed it pellets, but other websites say not to. Can anyone clear this up? Mum bought some cockatiel seeds:
Is this okay to use as the main diet for the bird (it contains grit, sunflower seeds and other stuff)? Alongside fresh fruits and veggies, of course.

2. The cage is outdoors but right infront of the backdoor so that it'll see us, is this alright? We have a sensor light (those lights that randomly turn on when something moves), so would that scare the cockatiel? Should I bring the cage inside instead?

3. Should I cover the cage with a blanket at night? I read that I'll need to find a nightlight, so should I do that as well?

4. Best ways to tame the bird?

5. Do I need to add a bowl for dust bathing/water bathing? (Apparently its decided by the preference of the bird, is that right?)

I'm sorry for all these questions. I just want to make sure that I can do the best I can to ensure this little guy feels comfortable and that I'm doing the right thing since I understand this is a long-term commitment. He's coming tomorrow, so I'm very excited to meet him.

Thank you so much!

Last edited:
1. What other foods should I give it? I read I should feed it pellets, but other websites say not to. Can anyone clear this up? Mum bought some cockatiel seeds: