Non GMO vs Organic feeds

McKinneyMike

Chirping
6 Years
Sep 20, 2013
McKinney, TX
I am just starting out with chickens and we want to provide good food for our small flock. The Organic feeds tend to be pretty pricey vs. the Non GMO feeds(but not certified Organic). As we are in north Texas, local feeds are the better value for us. Texas Natural Feed has a Non-GMO layer crumble that is $27.00/50 lbs bag. Hugelland Organic layer crumble is $27.00/25 lbs bag. We want to treat our birds well, but twice the cost for feed is a big deal also. We are planning on 8 hens( 2 each Australorps, Orpingtons, Ameraucana and Welsummers). We will allow them to free range early afternoon til dark most everyday.
Your thoughts would be most appreciated.

This is only my opinion.
Non GMO feed should be sufficient. Organic feed is something that certain peeps feel is a must for their chickens. They also are not concerned about price. Way way back in time and a distant land my mother raised chickens for eggs and food. There was no feed available then. She fed them boiled potatoes chopped up and some grain every now and then. They free ranged all day long and ate whatever grass or insects they were able to get at. We did alright. Today I keep chickens as pets only. I do get chickens ready to cook from the grocery store. They are on regular feed and I do not experience any bad effects from consuming them.
Free ranging is excellent. Keep in mind predators.
WISHING YOU BEST
thumbsup.gif

For me local and GMO free was priority.

I had a home made mix I used for my birds that was soy and corn free (so GMO free). Because I was getting grains directly from the co-op it cost me just a bit more than the regular feed. However it did take a bit of storage space and time to mix it. If interested I can dig it up.

Last edited: