Run accessible compost ... Yes/No??

classyq

In the Brooder
5 Years
Mar 4, 2014
Central PA
Hey gang!
I have a new coop and run (I'm a newbie) and have done oodles of research. I've had a vegetable garden for years and started canning. The next step was a no brainer, chickens...for eggs and entertainment. I've never had a compost. I know that chickens and compost are beneficial for each other...
The chickens will help turn the compost and help the decomposition and the compost will produce nice little bugs and treats. I want to add a 3x3x3 compost adjacent to the run that the chickens will have access to. (When I open their access, not 24/7)
But I've also read, among my research, that the compost should be far away from the coop/run.
I'd love to hear your thoughts!

A healthy compost presents no health problems to your chickens - quite the opposite. Some years ago I was inspired by Harvey Ussery's book "the small scale poultry flock" and in it his references to the Vermont Composting Company who use chickens to help manage a commercial size composting operation. So inspired, I built a 2 bin (5x5x5) compost setup immediately putside the chicken run. Our birds are free to range all day, but encouraged to visit the compost bin. It's been an unparalleled success - for both the chickens and the composting.

I encourage you to get that book, if you haven't already, and I applaud your plan to locate your compost bin alongside the chicken run.

@AxisOfBeagles
Thank you for your response....I too saw a special on the Vermont Compost, that's where I got the idea. I understand the moldy or spoiled issue. However, the plan is to use plant scrap (no meat or processed foods) with some brown and the manure. It's going to be fairly small and well maintained.
Thank you for the encouragement!
This is our first year as chicken keepers and I'm trying to do my part in being well educated, folks like you help make it all the easier and more fun!

Have a great weekend
1f60a.png
1f413.png