What's the best organic layer feed & how do I make my spoiled hens eat

euiduc

Hatching
8 Years
Jun 20, 2011
My hens are almost due in laying eggs (about 24 weeks now). I think I spoiled their taste pallet with ground meat, scrambled eggs, carrots, and treats for a while.

I have decided to stick with normal chicken feed instead and stop giving them too much treats. I normallly leave handful of pellets per hen every morning. They don't seem to be eating much of their pellets, and whenever they see me, they start complaining.... demanding something better. I mix in some barley and other grains into the feed, and they only eat the grains, not their pellets. Are the pellets too big for them to eat, or is it just tasteless for them to bother eating?

I don't want them to get malnourished. How can I get them eat their pellets and what's the best organic layer feed? What would be better for the girls? Mash or pellets? I am still new at this - have been raising them now for less than 2 months. They free range by the day eating grass and weeds (some cherries, tomatoes, cucumbers off the tree/vine).

Any adivse will be very helpful. Thank you!

Last edited:
I've found that ours like the crumbles better than the pellets. A little experimenting with pellets, mash or crumbles to see what works would be a good idea.