Why Ducks will always be a part of my flock... and why you should consider them too!

Studabird

Songster
May 8, 2020
Southwest Louisiana
I got my first chickens in March so I am far from an expert. That being said. I have over 20 chickens and 17 turkeys. I love them all. Chickens are their own personality and they have warmed my heart over and over again. Turkeys while they are dumb as dog hair when you first get them or when they are first born are pretty freaking cool. My turkeys will out smart my best attempts to keep them in but they always know where to be when it is time to get roosted and they trust me without doubt; whenever they see me they assume I am bringing them something they want and walk up to me. However, ducks... well they are different (this maybe true of all waterfowl as well). Due to unforeseen events I was asked to "foster" a duck. A single duckling that was probably a week old. I came to this community and asked for advice. It was immediately brought to my attention that I should not keep "a" duck. I was told they are social creatures and needed to be around other ducks. I had read this before but was slightly dismissive of the assertion; but I followed all the recommendations. Give the duck mirrors and a stuffed animal but I did it with a slight eye roll and thought it is a bird how much can it really know.