Breeding Easter Eggers with Easter Eggers?

LeslieAnne

Chirping
7 Years
Nov 19, 2015
Lindley, NY
So, it is the time of year when some of us realize our order of pullets also contains a rooster. I only ordered three Easter Eggers and with this I have one who is starting to make funny morning noises. I have absolutely no experience breeding so I am wondering if anyone knows what I would get if I were to allow these chickens to breed eventually? Biggest question being: Will I still have the same potential for blue or green egg layers? I wasn't sure if the 'Easter Egger' really required one of the parents to be purebred Ameraucana/Araucana or not.

I'm no expert but I've done a lot of reading so... From what I understand, it would depend on if the rooster carries at least one gene for blue eggs. In order for the offspring to lay blue eggs it needs two blue genes, so both parents would have to carry the blue egg gene. (For green eggs it is a blue egg gene and a brown egg gene). It will be easy enough to tell which genes the hens have by what color their eggs are but you won't really be able to tell on the rooster. You'll just have to breed them and see what comes. You could potentially get blue, green, brown, or pink (light brown) depending on the genes of your birds. I think the surprise factor is one of the things EE breeders and keepers like.

Oh, one more thing. Many say that having a pea comb and green legs is closely related to laying blue and green eggs. So if the rooster has a pea comb and green legs there is a good chance he has at least one blue egg gene.