Another Snake!!! Yall Told Me What Now Tell Me How!!!

Keni*Sue

Songster
10 Years
May 8, 2009
Campobello
ok now i know that i can use sulfer, that expanding foam,and moth balls, bird netting! any this else??? and im new to all of this could yall tell me how to use the things that i have listed. the type of coop that i have my LAST(the only one that hasnt got partially eaten) chick in i dont have anywhere to put those things that she cant get too. could someone point me in the right direction?!?

here is the coop that they were in
30681_imag0015.jpg

on the top and bottom there is the wire that has the 1cm x 1cm squares and i thought a snake couldnt get through that but i was wrong the snake must not be too big bc both chicks were killed and swollowed to their chests and spit back out bc it couldnt eat the whole thing!!

Quote:
what makes it not sturdy? right now that is the safest that i have i just need a way to TRY to prevent the snakes

I have 2 acres and the backyard is bordered by 2 creeks, so I have lots of snakes. Fortunately, I don't see too many, but I know they're there! I would highly recommend that you put 1/2" (or 1/4") hardware cloth (lowes, home depot) over all openings. My entire coop and run are covered in that (see my BYC page) and so far, I've had no snakes, possums, owls, coyotes. bobcats or raccoons (all of which are prevalent on my property) get through it. Where I've placed it inside the coop windows, I nailed the doo-wacky out of it cuz I know those coons are strong! Good luck!

Gail

Keni*Sue :

ok now i know that i can use sulfer, that expanding foam,and moth balls, bird netting! any this else??? and im new to all of this could yall tell me how to use the things that i have listed. the type of coop that i have my LAST(the only one that hasnt got partially eaten) chick in i dont have anywhere to put those things that she cant get too. could someone point me in the right direction?!?