Back yard rabbit group anyone?

herbandteas

Songster
11 Years
May 22, 2008
Olalla, Wa in Kitsap County
I was sitting here thinking that there are a few people who do comment on the other animal post about rabbits that dont know a lot about them that it would be nice to set up a Back yard rabbit group. Anyone interested enough in one?

Hi all, I am no professional but have nearly 50 years in rabbits and fowl As a family over a 100 years of experience. Very few problems and I will give some helpful advice . I didn't know this area was on BYC so maybe I can help. I raise meat rabbits, and have had 7 does and 2 bucks, would dress out up to 50 at a time, never bread them hard, always had 2 or more bred at the same time. Have had excellent success in fostering out large litters to other mothers with less. And never practiced culling a litter down to 8 like some pros do ( large at 8 weeks, this is standard butchering age or food to weight gain goes down dramatically) A new Zealand doe, from day bred, litter of 8, at 8 week old will eat 100 pounds of feed. These dress out to just over 2 1/4 pounds, less kidneys and liver. I am now in my 50's and only raise enough for my family, not to mention arthritis is so bad in my hands, I can only do maybe 10 at a time now. Old man time sure takes his tole. I feed nature wise, any good feed will work follow the guide lines, a fat doe wont breed. My does and bucks get 6 ounces a day an timothy grass hay, ( NOT ALFALFA, ITS TO RICH AND WILL GIVE THEM THE RUNS) A plastic resting pad is highly recommend to save you from sore hocks. BASS cage equipment sells anything you could want as well as Fleming Outdoors.
I raise chicory and radish tops for them and my chickens and quail. Give any part of dandelions to them YARD MUST NOT BE TREATED . there ARE MANY SITES FOR MEDICINAL PLANTS AND FOODS FOR RABBITS ON LINE THESE DAYS.