Goats n Grain: The Waiting Game

It is long past the time when this advice will help you, but I will post so you can keep it for future reference. Unfortunately, I have had a lot of experience with this sort of thing. If you find the goats in the grain the first and most important thing you can do is to withhold water for maybe 12 hours. The excess grain will ferment in the rumen producing lactic acid. The acid kills off the rumen bacteria among other things. Without water the deadly reaction cannot occur. Then fill the feeders with dry hay. Try to fill the culprits with as much dry hay as you can get them to eat. This will help dilute the grain. A five-day course of penicillin is helpful. One, because clostridium perfingens, the bacteria that causes entero, is susceptible to penicillin. Two, because the penicillin will treat any ulcers in the rumen that may form because of the excess acid.

Every goat owner should have a vial of clostridium perfingens antitoxin on hand. Also a packet of Gas X for bloat. Gas X is the best thing I have ever found to treat bloat and I have tried them all. It is fast, effective and safe. It is a lot safer than oil. Oil does work for bloat, but if you accidentally get some in the lungs it causes what is called a mechanical pneumonia. In that case you have cured the bloat but killed the goat.

If your goats are running around, they are probably fine. I would expect them to have a royal case of the squirts for a few days. If you have the antitoxin now go ahead and treat them. Sometimes entero does not show up immediately.

No, I didn't know about that one. I'm on Backyard Herds, but only one person has responded to my posts about this in 3 weeks, and their advice was to put her down and get some healthy goats. :-(